The Power of the Doner…

It’s my second Bosnian Sunday, and things are settling in for me in Sarajevo. I’ve been at my internship for a full week, am making friends with several people who live here, am developing routine habits and “regular” places to go…I even went grocery shopping today, and hardboiled my first round of eggs. That’s a sure sign that this is becoming a sort of home to me.

Yesterday was an absolutely fantastic day. It was cool, cloudy and even a bit rainy from time to time. (It felt a bit like I was in London or Seattle…which, in my mind, is definitely not a bad thing.) After a long day trip to Mostar, Medjugorje and Pocitelj the day before (some of the most amazing places I have ever seen, by the way–check out some pictures if you have time), it was nice to sleep in and wake up having absolutely no agenda. The morning and afternoon were what I always wish Saturdays could be when I’m swamped with homework and stuck in the library. One could say it was “Super Dobro!”

I was pretty content to stay at ‘home,’ reading, napping, doing laundry…pretty much being all-around lazy. But then I was hit with a craving for just about the only thing that could make me leave my comfy little room on this chilly Saturday–the Doner Kebab.

Last week, we randomly heard about this tiny little shop that supposedly sold the best doner kebab one could ever hope for. As this information was yelled across the noise of one of the many local cover bands that plays at the pub outside our hostel every weekend, I didn’t give it much thought. But for whatever reason, we stumbled across it by accident a few days later.

And we’ve gone back pretty much everyday since.

I’m not kidding.

This sandwich is amazing. The bread is fluffy on the inside, but crusty (but not TOO crusty) on the outside. The chicken is tender and seasoned to perfection. The cabbage and tomatoes are fresh and juicy. And the sauce that comes on it? Well, let’s just say it might be more delicious than In ‘N’ Out special sauce. Throw a spoonful or two of crushed red pepper on top, and you’re in sandwich heaven.

Sacrilegious? Perhaps. Exaggeration? Absolutely not.

Last Thursday, I actually had an emotional response to the fact that we’d be gone all day Friday and I wouldn’t be able to have one for lunch. Even just writing about one makes me want to go get one right now.

There’s just one problem. They’re closed on Sundays.

Doner Kebab, I love you.

Update: It’s Monday, and I didn’t eat one today. This will end tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

