First Days in Sarajevo

My first few days in Sarajevo have encompassed a plethora of emotions. I’ve gone from ecstatic and jubilant to lonely and sad all within a single day. Even with the lows, however, I am in complete awe of this amazingly beautiful city. I have to constantly remind myself to breathe deeply and take in as much of it as I can. While two months seems likes a long time right now, I know that we’ll be packing up to head home before I know it. So every single day, my goal is to absorb as much as possible and to be as present as I humanly can.

Watching the sunset and listening to the Call to Prayer has been my favorite thing by far up to this point. I was overcome with so much emotion that I was covered with goose bumps and simultaneously felt like smiling and crying. There is a line from one of my favorite books and movies that perfectly describes how I was feeling during this moment: I felt infinite. Even though I was missing my partner with every fiber of my being at that moment, I also knew that everything would be okay. There is so much beauty and life to experience in this city – it is nearly impossible to remain melancholy for any extended period of time.

One of the other things that I am so struck by is that I have an AMAZING group of people accompanying me on this journey. To say that I was worried about the group dynamics is an understatement, but now that we’re here, I realize that those fears were completely unfounded. Every single individual astounds me with his or her insight, compassion, and genuine excitement to be a part of all of this.

I do not know what the next two months holds for all of us but I know that we are in it together. And for that, I am eternally grateful.

Feeling Infinite

Leave a Reply

