Dobrodosli!

Where do I begin? After 7 years, I’m finally home! Considering that I was 14 the last time I came to Bosnia, being older and perhaps a bit wiser has made a considerable difference thus far this time around. These last 2 weeks have been awakening, exciting and exhausting. I’ve seen family, some for the first time and others again after the last time. It’s been a beautiful experience.

Bosnia is a country full of history and beauty. It is a lively country and it is no wonder my soul drives me back here, no matter what. However, it is also a country plagued by war; a people scarred by events that took place almost 20 years ago (the start of the war). The reason I mention this is because my feelings thus far are mixed with both good and bad. I can’t lie that it’s been an easy time because the reality is that this place brings up bad memories, too. I’ve met so many wonderful people but at the same time, I’ve been overwhelmed with their stories. Every new person I meet is a time to relish the past and bring up unfortunate circumstances.

I don’t want anyone to get the wrong impression – I’m very happy to be here as this is something I’ve been waiting for a long time. I’m grateful to have this opportunity. My experience has just been a mixture of everything and I’m just trying to find ways to process it all.

All in all, for the first time in a long time I’m drinking bosanska kafa, eating plenty of pita & cevapi, and hearing my native language J. Despite some of the downs, I’d rather have this than anything else!

 

Leave a Reply

