Impact

In thinking back on this week, what impacted me the most cannot be pinpointed to a specific event or person but rather a realization, a state of being perhaps? God that sounds weird, state of being, but it’s the most accurate description I can come up with at the moment.

This week, as I walk through the city, I found myself grinning like an idiot for no apparent reason other than shear happiness. (Okay, can’t lie, rereading that sentence made me vomit a bit) Being here, in Sarajevo, helps to satisfy my desire to explore and understand the world around me, while the work with my internship fulfills my need to lead a life of meaning.

In the past, I have been in situations where one of these aspects has been met (usually my curiosity), but rarely both simultaneously. As I look towards the future, I cannot help but wonder what this means for me, what path it will lead me down. After all, I want kids and a family of my own some day too. Can I have it all? Can I do meaningful work, explore the world and raise a family? Only time will tell. 

Leave a Reply

