Beautiful Bosnia Makes Me Homesick for Colorful Colorado

DSC00800

This past Friday, our group embarked on a three-hour hike through the Bosnian mountains to a small village named Lukomir. The entire hike was absolutely breathtaking and I found much needed quiet to reflect and just breathe. I grew up with picnics and weekend camping trips in the Colorado and Wyoming mountains, so I felt right at home during this week’s group trip. Unfortunately, the scenery and amazing views of Bosnia also made me miss the Colorado mountains that I love so dearly.  I continuously found my thoughts wandering back to my mom (who loves everything nature related and would have loved all of the wildflowers on the hike) and to my partner and friends (who also love the mountains and who are the people I’ve shared fun-filled weekends camping with).

DSC00805

The hiking experience was symbolic of the constant push and pull thatI feel here in Bosnia. On one hand, I feel that two months is flying by and that I’m not ready for this amazing experience to come to an end. On the other hand, however, I feel incredibly homesick for my life and the people I love back home. This internal struggle is perplexing to me but at the same time, I’m thankful that I have two extraordinary places to be torn between. Even now, looking at the pictures from our hike, I am filled with a sense of peace and realize that even though the Bosnian mountains are not the ones from my life in Colorado, they still make me feel right at home.

DSC00840

Leave a Reply

