Significant Photo.

image

This picture demonstrates the incredibleness of the people I have come to know here. Many weeks ago, I sat in a classroom of eleven people, barley aware of who any of them were, completely unaware of what my time in Bosnia would look like. I will admit, I passed slight judgements of what I thought the group would be like, what I thought of this person or that person. I think it is safe to say, preconceived notions are not always accurate in the slightest. And quite frankly, it’s wonderful thing. This photo displays three of the most quiet individuals in our class those many weeks ago. Now, there are times when you can’t get Ahmo, Shnanoon, or Saroona to stop talking, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I am so blessed by the wonderful group I am here with, and the life long friendships I have made and that continue to grow every single day. I am thankful for the awesome nick names that transpire. I am thankful for my wonderful Whisper Family counterpart who continues to encourage me through anything and everything. Im thankful that I can teach the top knot to willing- and not so willing- individuals. I’m thankful for my various fun and adventurous travel companions. I’m thankful for the hits. I’m thankful for flowers in beards. I’m thankful for Cheers dog. I’m thankful for individuals who encourage limited phone use- even if it means telling someone to jump out of a window. Im thankful for Sarajevo strolls around Baśčarć with a slado. I’m thankful for confidants who I never stop laughing with and who faithfully provide Eurocream whenever necessary. I’m thankful for community wine. I’m thankful for countless meals with awesome conversation. I’m thankful for the fact that I know I can always count on someone to share a drink with. I’m thankful for the utter hilariousness that is Snakeman. I’m thankful for a group of people who are up for anything. The personalities, quirks and stories we all have and share are incredible.

But the incredibleness of people extends far beyond the group I came here with. I love my internship for many reasons, one specific reason being the opportunity to meet amazing people. My supervisor is among the wisest, boldest, kindest, most giving individuals I have ever met, and I continue to learn from her every day. I am so appreciative of my fellow co-workers/other volunteers who help me teach English, who take me to cool sheesha spots, and who take us to the only sushi house around. Words cannot describe my appreciation and value for my fellow intern, who I was blessed to become wonderful friends with over the past month. I have learned so much from her, and am so glad to have her in my life.

The great people that I came here with and the fantastic people I have become close with here was not at all what I had ever imagined, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s true what they say, never judge a book by it’s cover. My peers continue to amaze me with their uniqueness and awesomeness and hilariousness. And the people I am honored to get to know here amaze me with their wisdom and willingness to give and love on people. I am so fortunate to learn from some amazing people. And it has been fascinating to see where we were 15 weeks ago, and where we all are now.

Leave a Reply

