Free Day in Sarajevo

We’ve spent a lot of time learning about the culture and history of BIH, but we’ve also had a fair amount of time to explore the city of Sarajevo on our own. There are so many memorable moments from this trip so far, it’s hard to pick just one thing. One of many memorable moments I’ve had so far is walking around the city on our day off.

We stumbled upon a huge open air fruit and vegetable market, and we bough so many different kinds of fruits and vegetables. I can’t wait to go back for more! It was so great seeing so much fresh food that appeared to be free of pesticides. The food had holes and scratches from bug and birds taking little bites out if it, and the fruit had bruises. Nothing had the strange shiny look to it that we see on our fruits in our grocery stores back home, and nothing looked like it was bigger than it was supposed to me. It’s sad that this was exciting to me, and that this is so uncommon in the U.S. Everything looked like actual, real, food and I feel so lucky to have the opportunity to eat it while I’m here.

After we all bought our weight in fruits and veggies we walked back towards our hotel and on our way, stumbled upon a Turkish celebration. They had formed a huge circle in an open area near the fountain and they were surrounded by people watching. When I get back to the U.S I want to research more about the celebration that I saw and what it was about. In the middle of the circle there was the equivalent of a drum major. The drum major was accompanied by some kind of Turkish soldier in the middle. The circle around the drum major was made up of men singing into microphones, men playing many different kinds of wind instruments that I associate with middle eastern music, and then there were men playing some kind of drum. I had never seen anything like this but I’ve always wanted to. It seemed very out of place since Bosnia is very far away from Turkey, but I need to learn more about the connection that Bosnia has with Turkey.

Leave a Reply

