Final Thoughts

The beginning of the trip, I questioned why I was on this trip. I was worried about not being affected by the trauma people experienced here. The first night people were talking about taking moments to process, but for some reason I felt I wouldn’t feel the same. Yes, Iwas sad about it, like it is horrible what happened. It shouldn’t have happened in the first place, but i didn’t feel like I was going to take it home with me. Growing up in private Jewish school, I felt I had been overexposed to genocide information from the Holocaust. But I think this trip forced me to think differently, viewing things from a new perspective, trying not to minimize others feelings about it. After talking to another student on the trip, he pointed out that it is like a slap in the face for the people who were murdered in the Holocaust, after the Holocaust it should never have happened again, but it did. Hearing that really put things in a new light for me, it should have happened again now all the pain everyone has experience from both Holocaust and the Bosnian genocide, is a sign that we as a society are not learning from our mistakes, they are being repeated, these people are dying in vain. Ann taking us on these trips and making these connections between us and between her friends here is part of the education process, a step in preventing something like this from happening again. I’m really glad i got the chance to reframe my thinking and start thinking about these trauma in a new light and from everyone else’s perspectives.

DSCN2831

Leave a Reply

