Final Thoughts- Too many to type

It’s hard to believe that today is our last day in Sarajevo. We’ve seen and experienced so much and I know this place will continue to be on my mind and in my heart. It’s been easy to think that this war is something that happened a long time ago, but all of these things happened within my lifetime. I know I am still processing a lot of the things I have learned about, and although I’d like to think that I will reach a conclusion and complete understanding about all of these things it’s very possible that I will never reach total understanding of why things happened the way they did.

Since I am not a very religious person, I also might not truly understand the strong impact that religion has on people and the trust that they put in their faith. I could drive myself crazy with trying to understand why people commit such atrocities, but I will never understand the motivation for this. Everyone was affected in some way by this war, and they live with it as their everyday reality. I’m impressed by their resilience. I’m excited for what is ahead for the future of their country, but I hope that the war and what happened in this country during the war is never forgotten.

Leave a Reply

