What an Experience…

Do we really have to go???  Someone said today it feels like we have been here for a month, but at the same time it feels like we just got here.  This trip has surpassed my wildest dreams to an extreme amount!  And we’re leaving tomorrow and I still can’t believe I’m here…All of the amazing things we have seen on this trip will always be with me, especially the people we have met, Hasan, Saliha, our Srebrenica drivers, everyone.  They all welcomed us with open arms, eager to share their stories, even the horrifying, traumatizing parts.

On this trip I have learned to appreciate what and who I have in my life to the greatest degree.  I have seen loss in my family but not nearly to the degree that this country has seen.  They not only lost loved ones, they lost their homes, their belongings, their neighbors, their city/town, and most of their country.  I know I stated this before, about how I can’t believe other human beings would ever want to treat someone the way the Bosnians were treated 20 short years ago.  But it has happened so many times, and it is continuing to happen today.  That somehow one life is more important, more valuable than another.  What gives others the right to make that decision, who ever thought that this was ok to do?  These are the questions I struggle with, not just with Bosnia but all over the world.

The other component of the trip that has struck a chord with me is all the animals roaming the streets and the treatment they receive.  I try to look at it from their point of view, they don’t want dirty, hairy animals near their customers and their food, but their hungry too…I have seen dogs and cats chased away, animals kicked, and in such bad conditions it breaks my heart.  I know the country can only do so much and they are still trying to put their own pieces back together, but I just wish there was something more we could do about all the animals with no homes.

Despite the many emotional roller coasters, this trip has been truly amazing and I want to thank Ann again for the opportunities to learn, grow, and venture out of my comfort zone.  I want to thank everyone else who also came on this adventure and for asking and saying the things I was too afraid to.  You are all amazing!!

image

Leave a Reply

