So Long, Sarajevo

Its hard to believe it has been over a month since I left Sarajevo. Bosnia almost feels like it was a dream. When people ask how my trip was, I still don’t really have a good response. There is so much to say about Bosnia its hard to put into words, or a quick summary. One of the first things that comes to my mind are all the amazing people I met this summer. From everyone in our program, to all the people at the Post-Conflict Research Center (my internship), to Naida and Saed and all the survivors and their stories they bravely and graciously shared with us, I am overwhelmed with gratitude, and love. I will never forget the incredible stories we heard from genocide survivors that exemplify human resilience, the ability to forgive and keep living after everything has been taken from you. I will never forget the spirit of the Bosnian people and their ability to laugh and make “black humor” around unimaginable horrific circumstances. The next thing I tell people about is how gorgeous the Balkan region is. Sarajevo reminds me a lot of Vermont with its lush, green rolling hills. Croatia and Montenegro blew my mind with the gigantic, jagged mountains contrasting turquoise, clear water. I feel incredibly lucky to have had such a rich experience in one summer. From start to finish, I had one of the most memorable summers of my life.The worst part of my summer was the first few days I was back in Colorado, I was sick with a stomach flu that several other people had caught before I left. The trip home went smoothly thankfully. I slept for almost three days straight in between endless trips to the bathroom.To say the least, I left Bosnia humbled and inspired and can’t wait to come back at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

