Observations First Day in Bosnia

SebiBefore arriving to Bosnia, I had an array of emotions. I was excited, nervous, anxious, and hopeful. I have done so much research about Bosnia, and now I am finally on the way. I am seeing landmarks that I read about in books and attempting to speak the language, though I am finding it somewhat hard.

Arriving in Bosnia, first thing I noticed is how similar the landscape is to Colorado. The view all around is breathtaking. Beautiful mountains surround the city of Sarajevo. Various shades of green and lush vegetation. The city itself is also breathtaking. Cobble stone roads are everywhere, making you feel as if you have gone back in time. Walking through the market, you see copper smiths stamping beautiful pieces to sell. The Sebi seems to be a meeting place for locals of all ages. So much Bosnian culture is seen just by walking down the street. Coffee cannot be bought to go. You must sit and enjoy your coffee. It’s almost like you slow down here.

Buildings everywhere show signs of the war that took place over 20 years ago. Bullet holes and Sarajevo roses are seen all over the city. I feel if you were not aware of what took place here, you would have no idea of what you are looking at. The city seems to have moved on even with reminders around every turn. People carrying on with their day to day lives, appearing happy and proud. The people I have met so far are welcoming and helpful. Today I went to get an espresso. The woman who sold it to me made a point to follow me after I left to tell me to make sure I keep my purse in front of me at all times so that I do not get robbed.

I have felt welcome and at ease up to this point. I am excited to see what the rest of the trip brings.

 

Leave a Reply

