Mostar

On Sunday we took a day trip to Mostar to see the bridge and hang out for awhile. We climbed to the top of a minaret outside of the mosque there, and the view of Mostar and the bridge was incredible. After Srebrenica and meeting Saliha, Rames, and Hassan, being somewhere that felt so beautiful and relaxing was a welcome (and guilt-inducing) change. My favorite part of Mostar was sitting underneath the bridge, putting my feet in the Neretva River (which was freezing), and watching everyone walk by. I don’t know if I’ve ever been anywhere that beautiful.

After Mostar, we drove to Kravica Falls and swam in the lake by the falls. Every time we go somewhere new in Bosnia, I find myself thinking to myself about what an amazing opportunity this is. It is constantly in my mind, especially as I cultivate new relationships with a very beautiful and unique group of women. I am struck by the depth of the friendships I have created here already, and I am so glad to share this experience with them.

I wonder how different the night would’ve been if we hadn’t been able to get Wifi at the gas station where we stopped to use the bathroom and learned about Orlando. The last time there was a mass shooting, I tweeted something like “The next time I hear of a mass shooting, I think my heart will actually break,” and I really think it did a little bit. Sometimes, especially after learning about this genocide and working in child welfare this year, I hear about the atrocious things we humans do to each other and I just don’t want to be a person anymore. I just don’t want to live in a world where things like this happen, where things like this are the norm. Sometimes it feels like it’s just too much to feel.

I want to be able to see the light in all of this, but right now there is just too much darkness. It helps to laugh and to see all of the beauty and joy here in Bosnia (and even within our group), but I don’t know if it’s ever really enough.

Leave a Reply

