Farewell and thanks for the memories

When I first arrived in Bosnia, I was not sure what to expect. This experience was one of enlightenment and growth. I learned so much over the past two weeks and I can’t believe I am already back in the states.
Bosnia is a beautiful country, vibrant with life and the culture is one of the friendliest I have ever had the opportunity to encounter. I always felt welcome and I never felt unsafe. For the first time in a very long time I felt accepted unconditionally. When the time came to pack my bags and leave for the airport, I was filled with a sense of sadness because I didn’t want to leave. I wanted to continue to explore and learn the culture and meet new people. Leaving Bosnia was far more difficult than I had expected.
The biggest take away for me, is to share what happened in Bosnia and to work on educating my peers and alleviating fear of a country that is in transition, not at war. I am going to share my new acquisition of knowledge and tell the truth about the road of the former Yugoslavia to the current environment that is the Balkan Region.
The impression of the experience is forever imprinted on my mind and it has given a much needed sense of perspective and enable me to truly see the resiliency of a culture of people who have had the worst acts committed against them. I understand the stereotyping a culture and the importance of not allowing the media to frame my thoughts, but to do my own research and formulate my own opinions. I know there is so much more to learn and I look forward to continuing to enhance my knowledge of the Bosnian culture.
I want to thank the individuals who shared their stories and the instructor for this opportunity and the memories that will shape my future interactions with different cultures.

image

One thought on “Farewell and thanks for the memories

  1. I love reading the reflections of those who visit Sarajevo and Bosnia. I worked there for 10 months last year, and totally agree with you. I am always so happy to see how a place and people I grew to love, affect others in exactly the same way.

Leave a Reply

