Wings of Hope//Fondacija Krila Nade

            It has been almost two weeks since we set off on the Peace March. There honestly has not been a day that goes by that I have not thought about that experience, and how it has changed me. I am so thankful for that opportunity, and while it was so difficult, it has been a truly life changing experience. Having the internship I do made it a lot easier to come back to Sarajevo after

Wings of Hope//Fondacija Krila Nade

            This internship has been absolutely amazing the first four weeks. I have not only learned about the non profit itself, but a lot about the history of Sarajevo and what individuals went through during the war. Wings of Hope or Fondacija Krila Nade is a non profit organization which works with both children and adults giving them a “psycho-social support using a multi-systemic approach”. The offer counseling/therapy to clients regarding a multitude of issues, they offer free legal help for marginalized individuals. They also offer English & German lessons to individuals who wish to take them.

I just graduated from the University of Denver in June with my Masters degree in Social Work. So for the past two years I have had required unpaid internships for school. My most recent internship was at the African Community Center in Denver working as an intense case manager with refugee families. This internship was one of the most life changing things I have ever done. So when I came to Wings of Hope, my standards were really high. And I am so happy to say that my standards have been met. The employees and volunteers at WHO are absolutely amazing, they are all so incredibly talented and passionate about different topics. It has also really been interesting to learn about how non-profits work and how different organizations work together in Bosnia.

Currently we are working on a proposal for the donors of Wings of Hope to receive more funding to help with legal fees for clients. While Wings of Hope offers free legal counseling, there are still some regular court fees that come along with any court proceedings. Two other interns and I are working on this proposal by doing research, and getting information from the Wings of Hope employees. This is not something that I am very experienced at, so it is really nice to have this experience.

 

I really could not be more thankful for these experiences that I am getting in Bosnia. I have met some absolutely incredible people, both in the DU program, and the local Bosnians. I love hearing people’s stories and learning about their lives, and Bosnia is definitely a good place to do so.

 

“Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.”

                        -Benjamin Franklin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

