Regeneration

I don’t enjoy it when people ask me, “how was Bosnia?” I’m still figuring it out.

Some certainties exist: I am changed. I have learned. I have grown. I have felt. I remember what I stand for, and what I can and cannot abide as someone whose career may well involve waging war. I can connect the policies and conflicts I entertain in the classroom with the names, faces, and personalities of the people they affect. There’s a renewed sense of purpose, direction. Patience. A slowing of pace in favor of being present, sensing and absorbing my environment. I find comfort in silence I once found terrifying.

It’s all still sights and sounds.

img_2901

    IMG_2322.JPG

 

 

 

    IMG_2869.JPG

 

 

 

 

IMG_2194.JPGIMG_2853.jpg

My mind is a strange beast; I have convinced myself that concerted attempts at closure will somehow do away with such a striking, meaningful experience.

img_2699

Dovidjenja, Sarajevo. Vidimo se uskoro.

Leave a Reply

